{Gone Pinning} Happy birthday to ME!

GonePinning

We’re officially in my birthday month — my birthday is October 12 — and I’ve been busy planning the party.

As you know, I love party planning and when it’s a special party for myself, I’m even more into it.

Last year, I celebrated the big 3-0 in Woodinville, visiting wineries with a group of my close friends. The day was perfect. We met after lunch, tasted for  hours and then got home to a perfectly cooked corned beef, just finishing up in the crock pot.

{Side note: I love corned beef so much and when I was in college my parents used to bring me some for my birthday, to keep in the fridge at the sorority and nibble on. They even double wrapped it, to make it too much work for the late-night, drunk snackers. Brandon enjoys corned beef too, and it’s good to have him around to share with, so I don’t eat the entire 4 lbs myself. But, yum. There could be worse things…}

Back to planning for the party at hand. Brandon and I are huge University of Washington Husky fans and this year my birthday falls on a Saturday, a game day. Specifically the the day the Oregon Ducks are in town. We’re hosting a tailgate for my birthday party this year and it’s time to really figure out what this shin dig will consist of. Time to visit Pinterest, the place where dreams are kept. (Thanks, Holly.)

Since it’s a football tailgate, I’ll start with my University of Washington board that is pretty much dedicated to all things tailgating for decorations.

A rubber duck pinata-- maybe we'll fill it with little bottles of liquor? That would be a nice surprise!

A rubber duck pinata– maybe we’ll fill it with little bottles of liquor? That would be a nice surprise!

...And we can hang the pinata with a purple noose! And beat it with a purple and gold bat...

…And we can hang the pinata with a purple noose! And beat it with a purple and gold bat…

I'll get a bunch of these printed too. Maybe I can make these into a dart board? Or incorporate them into a drinking game?

I’ll get a bunch of these printed too. Maybe I can make these into a dart board? Or incorporate them into a drinking game?

I’ve also been brainstorming menu ideas. Since they’re the Oregon Ducks, I’m thinking a couple of duck dishes are in order. Maybe some of these?

White chicken chili with duck instead of chicken? I think yes.

White chicken chili with duck instead of chicken? I think yes.

They don't have duck, but I love pizza and it is my birthday

They don’t have duck, but I love pizza and it is my birthday

And to really get in the spirit?

A party hat from my friend Libby's Paper Party Hats. (She makes all sorts of custom hats! Order yours today!)

A party hat from my friend Libby’s Paper Party Hats. (She makes all sorts of custom hats! Order yours today!)

A party isn't complete without cupcakes! I like these and making grass frosting would be a first for me!

A party isn’t complete without cupcakes! I like these and making grass frosting would be a first for me!

Obviously this is just a start. I’ll be devoting some pretty intense brainpower to this project/party in the upcoming weeks and I hope the Huskies play give me a wonderful gift of beating the Ducks! GO DAWGS!

One thought on “{Gone Pinning} Happy birthday to ME!

  1. Pingback: {Wine Wednesday} Happy Washington Wine Month! | Megan's Island

Leave a Reply

