A Sunday crafternoon

I hope you had a nice weekend. Beyond the usual grocery shopping and cleaning, I spent this afternoon finishing up a lot of projects I’ve been working on for the past few weeks (or sometimes years!).

How did I spend my crafternoon? Let me tell you all about it!

WSU Cougar Pinata | Megan's Island Blog

First, I’m on a pinata making kick and I put the last layer of paper mache on a WSU Cougar pinata that I’m making for the big Washington vs Washington State Apple Cup game this Friday.

The pinata is turning out really well and I’m hoping that its dry enough to paint tonight.

My pinata tutorial will be posted in the next few weeks.

Next, I made 15 pairs of holiday earrings for a craft show at work. These are super easy to make and I’ve made them many times in the past.

How do you make them?

First gather your ingredients and tools:

  • Needle-nosed pliers
  • Something to make the earrings out of (I use small glass ornaments from Michael’s. These were $5.99 for 27 ornaments)
  • Earring backs. I used the cheap silver ones, since these won’t likely get all that much use. I don’t remember the cost, but they came in the million pack and it was less than $5.
  • That’s it! (I wanted to be extra fancy and used punches to make a little backdrop for the earrings with fancy cranberry-colored glitter paper, also from Michael’s. It’s 12″ x 12″ and was $0.59 per sheet)

Next:

  1. Use the pliers and open the circle hook at the base of the earring hook a tiny bit. It should be easy to open but don’t open it too far, but just enough to slip on the ornament.
  2. Slip on the ornament.
  3. Close the hook back up.
  4. Tada. Totally easy, right? And oh so festive!

Easy DIY holiday earrings | Megan's Island Blog

Since Seattle has been so sunny (ok, not rainy) this week, I decided to do some spray painting. Here is a sneak peek. There will be much more explanation in the weeks to come.I was just happy that I got to bust out the gold spray paint. UPDATE: Read about my golden pine cones here

Spray painting | Megan's Island Blog

Felt Balls | Megan's Island BlogFinally, I bought a bunch of felt balls more than a year ago (online from the Felt Pod) and recently re-discovered them in the garage. It took me about 30 minutes to create a felt ball garland by stringing them on some embroidery floss and hang them in front of the big mirrors in our living room.

What do you think? I love them and I’m so glad I finally finished this project!

(Please note: I only made one strand, that’s just the reflection in the mirror.)

Felt Ball Garland | Megan's Island Blog

And now? It’s time to make dinner. We’re making this root vegetable stew with beef and barley from Whole Foods. It’s so good! Definitely pin this as a dish to try this winter!

Have a great week!

One thought on “A Sunday crafternoon

  1. Pingback: Christmas garlands | Megan's Island

Leave a Reply

