Christmas garlands

One of my favorite holiday traditions is speed tree shopping at Home Depot or Lowe’s. (Or Costco once.) Over the weekend we made the trek to Issaquah (about 10 minutes away), went out for a romantic lunch and spent 3.5 seconds picking out our seven foot tall Noble Fir Christmas tree at Lowe’s.  It’s a real beauty.

Tree

Once we got the tree home, it was time to bust out the five boxes of Christmas decor from the garage. A few hours later, the tree was trimmed and the halls were decked.

Here are some inexpensive DIY Christmas garland ideas. I’ve been scouring Pinterest for additional DIY decoration ideas and I’ll post those this Friday for my “Gone Pinning” feature.

Ornament candle holders | Megan's Island BlogI stopped by IKEA on Black Friday, after I was done with my morning shopping, (Why? Because I’m a crazy person, apparently), and found their holiday goodies.

Much to my delight, I discovered that they had these festive holiday Snofint glasses on special, for $0.49 each. No sense not having a full half set, so I bought six. Of course Brandon was pleased. (One of his least favorite impulse buys of mine is frivolous glassware.)

After I washed the glasses, I added some decorative sand and a candle and voila! quick, easy and festive. I’ve got four on the dining room table and the other two are adding some holiday cheer in the bathrooms.

I also found these amazing Snofint coasters, that come in packs of 10 and cost $0.99. They were such a deal that I bought four packages.

Here are the coasters:

Snofint coaster IKEAWith a large needle and some white embroidery floss, I set about making my garlands. Here they are. What do you think? I love them and am looking forward to putting them up, year after year.

Christmas coaster garland | Megan's Island Blog

Christmas coaster garland #2 | Megan's Island Blog

I also made this garland last weekend with some felt balls. It’s another one of my favorites.

Felt Ball Garland | Megan's Island Blog

The house is shaping up quite nicely! Have you put your decorations up yet?

Christmas

3 thoughts on “Christmas garlands

  1. Pingback: Our bumble bee-themed gender reveal party | Megan's Island

  2. Pingback: Trinity Tree Farms | Megan's Island

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.